[Tense] – Lesson 9: Future Simple

Future: “Will”

Introduction

Will future expresses a spontaneous decision, an assumption with regard to the future or an action in the future that cannot be influenced.

Form of will Future

positive negative question
no differences I will speak. I will not speak. Will I speak?

Use of will Future

  • a spontaneous decisionexample: Wait, I will help you.
  • an opinion, hope, uncertainty or assumption regarding the futureexample: He will probably come back tomorrow.
  • a promiseexample: I will not watch TV tonight.
  • an action in the future that cannot be influencedexample: It will rain tomorrow.
  • conditional clauses type Iexample: If I arrive late, I will call you.

Signal Words

  • in a year, next …, tomorrow
  • Vermutung: I think, probably, perhaps

Future: “Going to”

Introduction

Going to future expresses a conclusion regarding the immediate future or an action in the near future that has already been planned or prepared.

Form of going to Future

positive negative question
I I am going to speak. I am not going to speak. Am I going to speak?
you / we / they You are going to speak. You are not going to speak. Are you going to speak?
he / she / it He is going to speak. He is not going to speak. Is he going to speak?

Use of going to Future

  • an action in the near future that has already been planned or preparedexample: I am going to study harder next year.
  • a conclusion regarding the immediate futureexample: The sky is absolutely dark. It is going to rain.

Signal Words

  • in one year, next week, tomorrow
Leave a Reply

